Innovation Scholarships at University of Charleston, USA 2022

The University of Charleston, USA is offering a scholarship award of $5,000 per year to the selected students to support their studies at the institution.


Why choose to study at the University of Charleston? The University of Charleston is very dedicated to utilizing and enriching the strong relationship between the University and the greater Charleston community to prepare students for a life rich in community involvement. The university prepares students to live in an increasingly complex and changing society by helping them develop the knowledge, abilities, and character needed to be lifelong learners.

The University of Charleston (UC) is a private non-profit university with its main campus in Charleston, West Virginia. The university also has a location in Beckley, West Virginia, known as UC-Beckley.

The school was founded in 1888 as the Barboursville Seminary of the Southern Methodist Church. In 1901, it was renamed Morris Harvey College, in honor of a devoted supporter.

In 1935 the school moved to downtown Charleston and affiliated with the Mason College of Fine Arts and Music. In 1940, it became independent of the Methodist Church. In 1947, the school moved to its present campus in the Kanawha City section of Charleston across the river from the State Capitol. In 1951, it purchased the Young-Noyes House as the home of the college president. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.


The college fell on hard times after the end of the military draft and college deferment during the Vietnam War and offered itself to the state in 1975, which refused the gift. In December 1978, the school changed its name to the University of Charleston. Beginning with the inauguration of President Dr. Edwin H. Welch in 1989, the school has undergone a physical and academic transformation. Four new residence halls, a parking garage, a fitness center, an academic building housing the library, computer and science labs, and a new school of pharmacy have been built since 1998.


UC established campuses on Mountain State University’s former Beckley and Martinsburg, West Virginia, locations on January 1, 2013. UC later vacated the former MSU Martinsburg campus (the property was sold to a third-party buyer), and established a new location in Martinsburg, known as UC-Martinsburg. UC vacated the former MSU Beckley campus after the 2014–15 academic year and established a new campus in Beckley.


On December 15, 2017, the board of trustees named Martin S. Roth to succeed Dr. Edwin Welch as the president of the university. He began on June 30, 2018. Roth left his position as the dean of the business school at the University of Hartford.

Application Deadline: Applications at the University of Charleston are ongoing and will be actively reviewed.


Eligible Countries: International

Also Apply: Kulkarni International Students Scholarships at Walsh College, USA

Type: Undergraduate


Value of Award: $5,000


Number of Awards: Not Mentioned



  • Applicants must have a high school GPA of 3.0.
  • Applicants must submit Innovation Scholar Application. The applicants must interview with the Director/Assistant Director of Innovation & current Innovation Scholars.
  • Applicants must have a minimum 2.50 academic grade point average (on a 4-point scale); or a GED or TASC score of 450.
  • Applicants must submit scores of the following English language proficiency tests:

Internet-based test (IBT) on the TOEFL: 61

IELTS: 6.0

Duolingo: 95

GTEC: 1,100

PTE: 54

How to Apply: Applicants must successfully complete an undergraduate admission application for the University of Charleston. All eligible students will be considered automatically.


Visit The Official Website For More Information

Get in Touch

Related Articles

Get in Touch


Latest Posts