German Development Bank (KFW) Masters Scholarships 2022/2023 for East African Students

KFW Masters Scholarships: Call for applications from East African Community (EAC) students to pursue KFW-funded Masters Scholarships.

Deadline: September 17, 2021 no later than 5:00 PM, East African time

Eligible Countries: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

To be collected in (country): OAG partner state other than the country of citizenship

Field(s) of Study: 1) Mathematics, 2) Engineering, 3) Computer Science, 4) Science, 5) Technology and 6) Business Administration.

About the award: Applications are made for the Masters Scholarships program of the German Development Bank (KFW), supported by the German Development Bank (KFW) in partnership with the East African Community (EAC) and conducted by the Interuniversity Council for Eastern Africa (IUCEA). The aim of this initiative is to contribute to the training of leaders who will promote the regional integration of the EAC.

Applicants are expected to study in selected universities and programs in countries other than their own. Successful applicants will be offered a comprehensive package, including scholarships for the master’s programs, internships, mentorship, networking events and further leadership training activities. The scholarship supports master’s degree students in Mathematics, Engineering, Computer Science, Science, Technology and Business Studies programs. IUCEA hereby invites applications from students who are citizens of the East African Community (EAC) partner states to apply for the KFW-funded Masters Scholarships.

Type: Masters

Selection Criteria: The minimum requirements for qualification for the program are:

Be a citizen of a partner state of the East African Community; Have the required academic qualifications for admission to the program (at least at the level of Upper Second Class Honors or “Distinction” as applicable; Submit a motivation letter in English (with no more than 500 words) as follows: Well written (grammar and professionally) Demonstrates a convincing motivation to pursue the chosen Master’s program Demonstrates appropriately the candidate’s foreseen professional involvement in the EAC integration agenda after completing the Master’s program Demonstrates how they expect the acquired skills and knowledge of the Master’s program to contribute to the EAC integration agenda Show where they expect to see themselves professionally and academically in 5 and 10 years.

Note: this must be one letter

i. Am under 35 years old; and
ii. Have obtained an admission from a university in another country in the EAC region other than their own country.

Number of awards: 60

Price Value: The project provides financial support to academically educated and underprivileged master’s students with an emphasis on priority areas. Women and persons with disabilities are encouraged to participate in the program.

The scholarship covers:

University tuition fees: payable directly to the university according to an official invoice; Amount: EUR 380 per month to support living expenses, including housing, food, utilities, local transportation and settlement costs; Fees for study materials and research: EUR 1,500 one-off fee; Medical insurance; and Extracurricular events: at least one event per year.

Duration of the Award: 2 years

How to apply:

The application process is twofold and each MUST be completed separately

Application for University Admission;

Step 1: Identify the program and university of their choice from Section 4 above which lists eligible programs;

Step 2: Complete the application form for admission to the university of your choice (found on the university website). Make sure to pay the university application fee.

Step 3: Submit the completed university application form and related documents to the university indicating that you intend to apply for the EAC Scholarship Program.

Notes: (1) Candidates can apply to more than one university.

(2) Candidates may apply for more than one program; however, each program must have its own application form and attachments.

Application for the EAC Scholarship

Step 4: Register online for the EAC scholarship (

Step 5: Download the scholarship application form from the IUCEA website ( under Scholarships and complete it.

Step 6: Submit the completed application form in step 5 and supporting documents in PDF format as one zipped folder electronically;

Adroit University

Supporting documents are;

A letter of motivation for applying for the scholarship (find the structure of the letter in section 4-e above) Signed curriculum vitae Certified copies of all university degrees and transcripts. A copy of the university application form and its attachments. A recent passport size photograph in the color of your head and shoulders and reference letters.

Note: (1) Candidates with academic qualifications obtained from foreign institutions must be equated by the National Council/Commission of Higher Education in their respective countries.

(2) Applicants with supporting documents (including transcripts, certificates) in languages ​​other than English must submit both the originals and copies translated into English by an accredited language translation provider.

Visit the Award webpage for details

Get in Touch

Related Articles

Get in Touch


Latest Posts